The first edition of Schumann’s Fantasie in C, Op 17 has a number of differences from the edition more commonly used today, chiefly concerning the first movement (Schumann had originally planned the work as a single movement titled Ruinen [‘Ruins’]). David Wilde has reinstated many significant details both small and large, resulting in a revelatory reading of this tumultuous love-poem to the young Clara. In contrast, Kinderszenen, a touching and vernal evocation of childhood, is given a performance of artless innocence that chimes with Wilde’s conviction that ‘it shouldn’t sound mature’. Carnaval’s colourful cast of characters is viscerally and imaginatively brought to life, culminating in David’s fearsome ‘March against the Philistines’. A veteran of the Romantic piano tradition, David Wilde brings six decades of intense experience to this recital. His playing harks back to a time when audiences expected much more from the performer. This is Schumann with personality – listeners searching for a ‘safe’ experience will be disappointed!


‘Wilde’s Schumann is a highly individual affair … Is it wilful? Maybe in part, but it preserves performances of mature insight spiced with caprice, and an iconoclastic spirit’
— MusicWeb International

Fantasie in C, Op. 17
I. Durchaus phantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen – Im Legendenton – Erstes tempo
II. Mässig. Durchaus energisch 
III. Langsam getragen. Durchweg leise zu halten

Kinderszenen, Op. 15
I. Von fremden Ländern und Menschen
II. Kuriose Geschichte
III. Hasche-Mann
IV. Bittendes Kind
V. Glückes genug
VI. Wichtige Begebenheit
VII. Träumerei
VIII. Am Kamin
IX. Ritter vom Steckenpferd
X. Fast zu ernst
XI. Fürchtenmachen
XII. Kind im Einschlummern
XIII. Der Dichter spricht

Carnaval, Op. 9
I. Préambule
II. Pierrot
III. Arlequin
IV. Valse noble – Intermezzo: Paganini – Tempo I ma più vivo
V. Eusebius
VI. Florestan
VII. Coquette
VIII. Réplique
IX. Papillons
X. Lettres dansantes (ASCH–SCHA)
XI. Chiarina
XII. Chopin
XIII. Estrella
XIV. Reconnaissance
XV. Pantalon et Colombine
XVI. Valse allemande – XVII. Intermezzo: Paganini – Tempo I ma più vivo
XIX. Promenade
XX. Pause – XXI. Marche des Davidsbündler contre les Philistins